Session Day: 
Second Day
Instagram for Palestine: How to Use Research for Social Justice Content
Session Date: 
Friday, October 22, 2021 - 9:00pm - 10:00pm
Session Language: 
About the session: 

2-3pm EST | 9-10pm Jerusalem | 7-8pm London, UK

In this workshop, three digital content creators from @theimeu@letstalkpalestine, and @palestinestudies share tips and tricks to use instagram for the dissemination and production of knowledge. Learn how to condense information to create digestible content. 

Internet users are increasingly consuming news via social media. In the absence of fair and accurate reporting on Palestine, organizations like the Institute for Middle East Understanding, Let's Talk Palestine, and the Institute for Palestine Studies have filled in the gaps and false narratives on historical and contemporary affairs.

This event is co-sponsored by the Institute for Middle East Understanding and Let's Talk Palestine.

About the speakers: 

Laura Albast: a Palestinian journalist and translator. She is the digital content editor at the Institute for Palestine Studies in Washington, DC. She holds degrees from the American University of Beirut and Boston University.

Omar Baddar: a political analyst, digital producer, and human rights advocate based in Washington, DC. He serves as communications director for the Institute for Middle East Understanding, and co-host for its podcast This is Palestine.  He holds a master’s degree in political science, with research focusing on U.S. policy toward Palestine and Israel.

Sayf Abdeen: the Executive Director of Let's Talk Palestine, an online platform that seeks to advance collective liberation by educating audiences to navigate historical and contemporary political issues, while amplifying Palestinian voices.

Video of the session: 
Audio of the session: